Login

Fnatic to ring in ESL One Genting 2018 as opening matches and groups released

Dota 2 Cristy “Pandoradota2” Ramadani


Photo courtesy of Lowyat.NET

ESL One Genting 2018 groups revealed to kick off as Team Secret, Planet Dog, compLexity Gaming and Fnatic mark the opening matches of the event.

Eager fans won't have to wait long to see Saahil ‘UNiVeRse’ Arora's LAN debut with Fnatic as the locally based team are set to go head to head against compLexity Gaming as one of the two opening matches for the Minor. Playing at the same time will be the leaders of the Pro Circuit Ranking - Team Secret taking on the underdogs and recently reshuffled lineup of Planet Dog

ESL One Genting 2018 is just around the corner, scheduled to take place between January 23-28 at the Arena of Stars in Genting’s Highlands Resort. The minor is boasting a $400,000 prize pool and 400 qualifying points counting towards the TI8 direct invites up for grabs - an increase of $100,000 and 100 points above the other Minors this year.

ESL One Genting Groups:

Group A
Europe Team Secret
Europe Planet Dog
United States compLexity Gaming
Malaysia Fnatic
China Vici Gaming
China VGJ. Thunder
Brazil SG e-sports
Russia Virtus.pro

Group B
Europe Team Liquid
Germany PENTA Sports
Ukraine Natus Vincere
United States Evil Geniuses
South East Asia Mineski
Philippines TNC Pro Team
China LGD Forever Young
China Newbee

ESL One Genting Group Opening Schedule:

Group A openers

  • 12:00 MYT/05:00 CET - Team Secret vs Planet Dog
  • 12:00 MYT/05:00 CET - compLexity Gaming vs Fnatic
  • ~13:10 MYT/06:10 CET - Vici Gaming vs VG.J Thunder
  • ~13:10 MYT/06:10 CET - SG e-sports vs Virtus.pro

 

Group B openers

  • ~14:20 MYT/07:20 CET - Team Liquid vs PENTA Sports
  • ~14:20 MYT/07:20 CET - Natus Vincere vs Evil Geniuses
  • ~15:30 MYT/08:30 CET - Mineski vs TNC Pro Team
  • ~15:30 MYT/08:30 CET - LGD.FY vs Newbee

 

ESL One Genting Group Stage Format:

Group stage

  • Tuesday to Thursday, January 23-25
  • 16 teams
  • Double Elimination
  • Two groups of eight teams
  • Opening matches Bo1 - all other matches Bo3

 

 

QUICKPOLL

What do you think of the best-of-one opening matchups?

I like it a lot!
Thank you for voting!
I don't think it makes a lot of sense
Thank you for voting!
Cristy “Pandoradota2” Ramadani
Pandora is a behind the scenes Dota 2 professional Jack of All Trades. When not busy with Dota 2 work, she is out trying to save the world or baking cupcakes. Follow her on Twitter @pandoradota2

Discussion

  • Mark "13oundary" Paterson ,
    Was confused when I read this... so I went to the ESL page and it makes WAYY more sense. Top 3 each side makes it to the stadium. 1st in groups gets a BYE to semi, 2nd place vs 3rd place of other group to get to semi. All lower bracket are Bo3 which is at least something. I actually really like this format. The groups are really important here.
    • Kamil "serans" Pałka ,
      Yeah, that actually quiet nice format. I'm just looking at these teams and boy o boy what a high-level tournament that is. Really excited about BO1 start, I think that teams like PENTA can really surprise us.
  • Johny "Shaze" Shaze ,
    Navi vs EG and if they win vs Liquid? Poor guys and bad seeding =( Group B is stacked asf.
    • "Booncz" ,
      dude it seeded according to th official ranking? no? = so 7th vs 10th sounds like perfectly good match up and then winner against number 2nd/3rd makes total sense EDIT: in both groups the ranks 1-4 meet in the finals...

Matchticker

This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience Read more