WePlay Animajor

WePlay AniMajor; WePlay to host the upcoming Major

Dota 2 Cristy “Pandoradota2” Ramadani

Title image courtesy of WePlay

The second (and last) Major of the DPC 2021 season will be hosted by WePlay in Kyiv, Ukraine. 

TI10 has been announced. The DPC 2021 Season 2 is getting geared up for the last week of league play. Teams are already starting to claim their spots for the second (and last) Major of the year. Things are moving at lightning speed in the Dota 2 world and it's electrifying. 

Now the details for the Major have been announced. 

All 18 teams that have qualified will be onsite. There will not be any spectators onsite however. 

We know from a previous deep dive into the organization with Maksym Bilonogov WePlay Esports General Producer, that their real passion and expertise is in production value and creating stories. WePlay Bukovel Minor brought magic and fairytales to life and was the most viewed Minor. Then for WePlay Mad Moon, fans were transported to a cyberpunk world and futuristic city. 

There is little doubt that WePlay Esports will continue to create events of the highest caliber bringing the production value to the next level making fans eager to tune in. 

Major Slots

At the end of the league, the top teams from each region’s upper division will qualify to the Major. The distribution of the 18 slots will be as follows:

EU: Top 4
China: Top 4
SEA: Top 3
CIS: Top 3
NA: Top 2
SA: Top 2

Season 2

Season 2 league dates: April 13-May 23
Major 2: June 2-June 13

Season 2 Format

  • Teams
    • Majors feature 18 teams from among the six regions
  • Wild Card
    • Six teams
    • Bo2 round robin
    • Top two teams advance to the Group Stage
    • Bottom four teams are eliminated
  • Group Stage
    • Eight teams
    • Bo2 round robin
    • Top two teams advance to the Upper Bracket of the Playoffs
    • 3rd to 6th placed teams advance to the Lower Bracket of the Playoffs
    • Bottom two teams are eliminated
  • Playoffs
    • Twelve teams, Double Elimination bracket
    • Four teams start in the Lower Bracket
    • Eight teams start in the Upper Bracket

Season 1 Prize Pool and DPC Point Distribution 

Majors award $500,000 USD and 2,700 DPC points among the top eight teams as follows:

Place Prize DPC Pts
1 $200,000  500
2 $100,000  450
3 $75,000  400
4 $50,000 350
5-6 $25,000 300
7-8 $12,500 200


Head over to our Hub for match info and our One Stop Shop; DPC 2021 Season 2 guide to get all the info on what is to come for the next few weeks and how the divisions are fairing. 


Are you happy to see WePlay hosting the Major?

Yes, they do a great job
Thank you for voting!
No, I was hoping it would be China -- their league production has been amazing
Thank you for voting!
Cristy “Pandoradota2” Ramadani
Pandora is a behind the scenes Dota 2 professional Jack of All Trades. When not busy with Dota 2 work, she is out trying to save the world or baking cupcakes. Follow her on Twitter @pandoradota2


Be the first to comment.


This website uses cookies to ensure that you get the best experience Read more