Playoffs bracket and schedule

Awesomenauts Linus “Tjernobylbarnet” Staaf

The playoffs will take place this weekend (June 27 - 28) with 16 teams playing a double elimination bracket. Find the format, bracket and schedule below.

After 12 weeks of qualifiers, it comes down to two days of playoffs, or finals if you will, to settle the champions of the Alienware Awesome Cup #2. The finals feature 16 teams who will be facing off in a double elimination bracket. The initial matches are seeded according to the points gathered through the qualifier stage.

All winner bracket matches are best of three. The loser bracket matches are however best of one with the exception of the final two rounds there which are best of three. The grand final is best of five with the team coming from the winner bracket starting 1-0.

For those unfamiliar with double elimination brackets, it refers to the fact that if you lose in the winner bracket, you drop down to the loser bracket. If you lose the match the loser bracket, your team is eliminated. You can however battle your way through the loser bracket as the grand final consists of one team from the winner bracket and one team from the loser bracket.


Matches for Saturday (June 27)

16:00 CEST / 10am / EST / 7am PST - Initial Round of 16 - Bo3
18:00 CEST / 12pm / EST / 9am PST - Round of 8 - Winners - Bo3
18:00 CEST / 12pm / EST / 9am PST - First Round of 8 - Losers - Bo1
20:00 CEST / 2pm / EST / 11am PST - Round of 4 - Winners - Bo3
20:00 CEST / 2pm / EST / 11am PST - Second Round of 8 - Losers - Bo1
20:45 CEST / 2.45pm / EST / 11.45am PST - First Round of 4 - Losers - Bo1
22:00 CEST / 4pm / EST / 1pm PST - Second Round of 4 - Losers - Bo1

Matches for Sunday (June 28)

16:00 CEST / 10am / EST / 7am PST - Winners Final - Bo3
16:00 CEST / 10am / EST / 7am PST - Losers Semi-Final - Bo3
18:00 CEST / 12pm / EST / 9am PST - Losers Final (has to wait for both preceding matches to finish) - Bo3
20:00 CEST / 2pm / EST / 11am PST - Grand Final - Bo5, with +1 to Winners bracket finalist

The stream commences broadcasting a bit after start of the matches and the public bracket will be updated according to the broadcast time to avoid spoiling viewers of results before the games have been aired. Teams will report results and replays to admins instead of through the site. Detailed stream schedule to be announced later on. Specifics about communication, resulting and hosting will be provided to the teams through the playoffs Steam group later on as well.

See you at the finals!

 

Linus “Tjernobylbarnet” Staaf
<p>Linus Staaf - former operations manager at GosuGamers.&nbsp;Started following eSports in 2009, responsible for the GGnet database 2009-2015. Film and music enthusiast and a firm believer that longer songs are better. Always finish&nbsp;what I sta - follow @Tjernobylbarnet</p>