Valve announces the participants and qualifier schedule for TI4

Dota 2 Andreas “drouks” St

The big day has arrived, as Valve just announced the competitors for this year's International. The teams that will be battling in the regional qualifiers have also been announced, and the qualifier brackets will span from May 12th through May 27th.

Through the official DotA2 website, Valve made the official announcement for the most prestigious tournament of the year, The International IV. Eleven teams have been directly invited to the main event, and they will be joined by the four winners of the regional qualifiers. The final spot will be covered by one of the four runner-ups, after the Play-in Series in Seattle.

The International IV's location will be the KeyArena, a multi-purpose stadium of the Seattle Center facilities, in Seattle, WA, USA. The 17.000 venue will be able to accommodate a vast crowd of Dota 2 enthusiasts, an amount way higher than Benaroya Hall, the host of the latest two versions of The International which had room for roughly 3,000 visitors. The location change was required due to the increasing popularity of the massive event held each year by Valve.

Without further ado, here are the invited teams for this year's International :

Sweden Alliance
Malaysia Titan eSports
United States Evil Geniuses
Europe Fnatic
China NewBee
China ViCi Gaming
China Invictus Gaming
China Team DK
Russia Team Empire
International Cloud9
Ukraine Natus Vincere

The regional qualifiers for the tournament will take place from May 12th through May 27th. As mentioned above, the four winners will advance to the main event, while the four runner-ups will fly to Seattle and fight for the remaining spot.


The International IV Regional Qualifiers
America - May 12-15 (12:00 PM EST) SEA - May 16-19 (12:00 PM SGT)
Peru Union Gaming
United States Sneaky Nyx Assassins
United States No Earthspirit
United States Osiris Gaming
United States eHug
Brazil CNB eSports
United States Team Liquid
Peru Revenge eSports
United States North American Rejects
United States TOP5
Philippines Mineski
Thailand MiTH.Trust
South Korea MVP.Phoenix
Singapore Scythe Gaming
Singapore First Departure
Malaysia Arrow Gaming
Indonesia Rex Regum Qeon
South Korea Zephyr
Philippines Execration
Malaysia Orange eSports
China - May 20-23 (12:00 PM CCT) Europe - May 24-27 (12:00 PM CEST)
China TongFu
China LGD 
China Orenda Gaming
China DT.NGC
China CIS-Game
China Speed
China New Element
China HyperGloryTeam
Kazakhstan NEXT.Kz
Denmark MeetYourMakers
Russia Virtus.Pro
Europe Team DOG
Russia RoX.KIS
Russia Aware Gaming
Russia Relax
Belarus ESFX.Power Rangers
Sweden Monomaniac Gaming
Europe hehe united


The qualifiers will consist of two phases. During the first phase, each team will fight every other team in a best-of-one match, with the top four teams advancing to the second phase. The second phase is a double elimination bracket with best-of-three matches. The first and second teams of the first phase will enter the Upper Bracket, and the third and fourth will start in the Lower Bracket. The regional Grand Final will be a best-of-five match.

Source :

Andreas “drouks” St
There's really not much to say about Andreas 'drouks' Stavridakis, except that he sleeps two hours a day, plays the guitar and survives solely on Diet Coke. He also writes about DotA sometimes.