News

OpTic and Animal Planet get another shot at ESL One Katowice

Posted by Cristy "Pandoradota2" Ramadani at 20 January 2018 07:30


Photo courtesy of Beyond The Summit by Robert Paul

ESL One Katowice has given ten teams another shot to qualify for the event with the 'Last chance' qualifier for NA.

The announcement of the newly added qualifier series comes days after highly publicized and controversial debate on the disqualification of both OpTic Gaming and Animal Planet. When both teams were late to their matches due to conflicts in other Pro Circuit qualifiers, the organizers had issued a disqualification per published rules. Now it seems, the last spot for the Major in Poland will be awarded to one lucky NA team who will thrive in a second chance qualifier set. Fans may remember that the final spot of ESL One Genting was awarded to an EU team, announced on the same day of the qualifiers.

The winning team will join compLexity Gaming as the NA representatives February 20-25 at the Spodek Arena in Katowice, Poland. A total of 16 teams will compete for the $1,000,000 prize pool and 1500 TI8 qualifying points.

ESL One Katowice 2018 Last Chance Qualifier:

Teams:
Ro12 invites

Ro8 invites

 

Schedule

The NA Last Chance Qualifier will be a single elimination, best-of-3 bracket with a best-of-5 grand final and will start on Monday 22nd January.

Monday, January 22nd

  • 16:00 PST/01:00 CET: Thundercats vs cats123
  • 17:00 PST/02:00 CET: Team Rejects vs Minds Eye

Tuesday, January 23rd

  • 16:00 PST/01:00 CET: Immortals vs Winner of Thundercats vs cats123
  • 16:30 PST/01:30 CET: Animal Planet vs OpTic
  • 17:00 PST/02:00 CET: CES vs Blue Pikachu
  • 17:30 PST/02:30 CET: VGJ vs Winner of Rejects vs Minds Eye

Wednesday, January 24th

  • 16:00 PST/01:00 CET: Semi Finals 1
  • 16:30 PST/01:30 CET: Semi Finals 2

Thursday, January 25th

  • 16:00 PST/01:00 CET: Grand Finals

QUICKPOLL

Who do you think will win the series between Animal Planet and OpTic Gaming?


Animal Planet
Thank you for voting!
Optic Gaming
Thank you for voting!

Comments