Presenting €1,500 Razer StarCraft 2 GosuCup

Posted by Patrik "Raistlin" Hellstrand at 08 April 2011 17:55

It was seven months ago that HuK defeated Adelscott to be crowned the GosuCup champion. Today we are proud to announce the revisit of the popular series. GosuGamers can announce the Razer StarCraft 2 GosuCup.

The event will feature six 512 player open registration StarCraft 2 tournaments where the winner and runner-up of each tournament will meet up in a group stage with last season's top four finishers.

The top eight will then culminate in a playoff bracket where they will fight for a €1,500 Euro prize pool.


Qualifications and seeds

The first qualifier will be hosted on April 17, 15:00 CET on the European server and anyone with a EU Battle.Net account can enter. Check-in time will be 30 minutes before the start of the tournament. Detailed rules and map pool will be presented when the registration opens.

Each qualifier will alternate between the European and the US servers.

We will be seeding four players into the group stage. Last season's champion Chris "TLAF-Liqiud`HuK" Loranger (#35), runner-up Benoît ""Mill.Adelscott" Strypsteen (#26), Giacomo "aTnSocke" Thüs (#27) and Nick ""GGLastShadow" De Cesare (#735) will all hold one spot each in the group stage.

Schedule and streams

The first weeks of the Razer StarCraft 2 GosuCup will have six qualifiers, one each Sunday, alternating between 15:00 CET and 15:00 EST depending on the server.

On May 28, we will be going into the Round of 16 with all the qualifiers and seeded players in a group stage of four.

The playoffs will begin on June 11, where the best two players from each group will go at it in a single elimination bracket.

We will begin the broadcast for all the matches from the group stage and onwards, which will be running through late June. Matches will be broadcasted through replay casting due to schedule, lag and time zone issues.

Qualifier tournaments will be streamed live, with semi finals and grand finals released as VODs.

Stay tuned for first qualifier tournament details, casters and map pool