is Dota2 really the same with wc3 DotA?

22 replies to this topic
  • Please log in to reply

#1 Hamasaki_Fanz

Hamasaki_Fanz

Dendi Pudge

• Advanced Member

Posted 12 April 2012 - 05:01 AM

I've been playing wc3 dota for 6 years and I understand the mechanics well.
And now, I've been playing dota2 for 3 months or so, and wondering, is the mechanics really the same with wc3 dota ?

for example: in wc3 dota, quelling blade is an orb effect (because in wc3 it is an orb effect), so it will no longer have its effect if we get another orb effect. However in dota2 the engine is different, so is it still an orb effect?

if you watch all eps, you'll become more curious

#2 BroSnail

BroSnail

Dendi Pudge

• Advanced Member

Posted 12 April 2012 - 05:03 AM

2012-04-12 07:01, Hamasaki_Fanz wrote:
for example: in wc3 dota, quelling blade is an orb effect (because in wc3 it is an orb effect), so it will no longer have its effect if we get another orb effect.

Posted Image

#3 blazingfear

blazingfear

REPORTED!

• Advanced Member

Posted 12 April 2012 - 05:10 AM

Mother of orb effects... We need to go deeper!

#4 thezor

thezor

Dendi Pudge

• Advanced Member

Posted 12 April 2012 - 05:39 AM

They're trying to port pretty much every mechanic as accurately as possible - some will however be different, like SK's Storm not dealing damage to neutrals, since they don't go apeshit anymore, but that's a rare thing. Everything else aims to be a 1/1 copy as far as mechanics are concerned.

#5 4saken.infinity

4saken.infinity

Dendi Pudge

• Advanced Member

Posted 12 April 2012 - 06:29 AM

#3 is wrong. They are clearly going in with a different orb effect priority. Heck they aren't even gonna call it orb effect. They are calling it Unique Attack modifier. My guess is that it's closer to a buff placer than an orb effect in its effect but doesn't really matter either which way. They wont be separating buff placers and orb effect from what I can tell.