News

ESL One Cologne 2017 - First round matches announced

Posted by Peggy "Moirai" Forde at 27 June 2017 19:23

The sixteen teams will be competing to take home part of the $250,000 prize pool in one of the most well-known tournaments in CS:GO.

ESL officially announced the Round One matches for ESL One Cologne 2017, which will take place July 7-9. These preliminary matches will take place July 4 and will decide who will make it to the LAN playoffs in Cologne, Germany. There will be two streams running live for these first matches. Seeding was decided via CS:GO Global Ranking standings. The Group Stages will be played under the Swiss System rules.

The schedule for the first matches of ESL One Cologne 2017 are:

Main Stream
12:00 CEST / 06:00 EDT - Europe mousesports vs. Sweden Fnatic
13:15 CEST / 07:15 EDT - Brazil Immortals vs. Poland Virtus.pro
14:30 CEST / 08:30 EDT - Sweden Ninjas in Pyjamas vs.United States Cloud9
15:45 CEST / 09:45 EDT - CIS Natus Vincere vs. United States Team Liquid

B-Stream
12:00 CEST / 06:00 EDT - Europe FaZe Clan vs. Heroic
13:15 CEST / 07:15 EDT - [f]Brazil.gif" align='absmiddle' title="[Denmark/f] Heroic
13:15 CEST / 07:15 EDT - [f]Brazil" alt="[Denmark/f] Heroic
13:15 CEST / 07:15 EDT - [f]Brazil" border="0" /> SK Gaming vs. Turkey Space Soldiers
14:30 CEST / 08:30 EDT - China TyLoo vs. France G2 Esports
15:45 CEST / 09:45 EDT - Denmark North vs. United States OpTic Gaming

When the dust settles on July 9, only one team will be able to claim the title of Grand Champion and have a head start in the Intel Grand Slam challenge. If the champions can claim victory on three other qualifying Premiers, then that team will take home a $1,000,000 bonus along with all previous tournament earnings.

The competition doesn’t stop in the arena, however; after the tournament, Virtus.Pro and SK Gaming will face off in a football (or, for you Americans, soccer) match at RheinEnergieSTADION, the home of FC Köln. The game will take place on Monday, July 10 at 19:00 CEST, and those with Premium or Plus tickets to ESL One Cologne will be granted free admission to the pitch.

Image courtesy of ESL

 

 

QUICKPOLL

Who do you think will win the football match?


SK Gaming
Thank you for voting!
Virtus.Pro
Thank you for voting!

Comments